Republicans hate

check for links to open new windows

Tuesday, June 14, 2005

Senators who did not sign lynching apology

Posted by Frankie at 6/14/2005 12:20:00 PM

First let's say that if you are not racist you should not care which political party you affiliate yourself with. However, 27% of the Republicans in the Senate refused to sign the anti-lynching resolution. Sadly, Kent Conrad the sole Democrat from the great progressive state of North Dakota joined the wall of shame. Here is the list:
Lamar Alexander (R-TN)
Robert Bennett (R-UT)
Christopher Bond (R-MO)
Jim Bunning (R-KY)
Conrad Burns (R-MT)
Saxby Chambliss (R-GA)
Thad Cochran (R-MS)
Kent Conrad (D-ND)
John Cornyn (R-TX)
Michael Crapo (R-ID)
Michael Enzi (R-WY)
Chuck Grassley (R-IA)
Judd Gregg (R-NH)
Orrin Hatch (R-UT)
Trent Lott (R-MS)
Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)
Richard Shelby (R-AL)
John Sununu (R-NH)
Craig Thomas (R-WY)
George Voinovich (R-OH)

Senator Mary Landrieu, D-La., takes part in a luncheon on Capitol Hill Monday, June 13, 2005, for family members of lynching victims. Seated is James Cameron, 91, is thought to be the only living survivor of a lynching attempt. Nearly 200 descendants of lynching victims were on hand for the Senate apology for blocking anti-lynching legislation at a time when mob violence against blacks was commonplace. (AP Photo/Dennis Cook)

Permalink | | Comments (0) | Post a Comment |




2006 Republicans Hate America